It has been just another day.  For the first time in three months I had a task to accomplish at work.  This involved moving 1,200 lbs of film.  The physical exercise was welcome but a part of me did miss 8 hours of uninterrupted perusal.  After work I stopped at Trader Joe’s to pick up almond milk, bananas, and another can of their organic, vegetarian chili.  I gathered these items quickly and got in line behind a girl who appeared to be a few years younger than myself.  She had a child with her, probably less than six years old.  Five minutes passed before I realized the entire checkout process was taking longer than it should.  From what I could gather, there was a dispute over how much money was left on one of two gift cards she was using.  My subconscious kept prodding me, insisting that I offer to pay the balance of $7.50 but I was too absorbed in watching the interaction to speak.  Fifteen minutes in I decided I may as well wait it out, the shoppers behind me having chosen other lines by this time.  In the end, the young mother left without her bag of chips, an apple, a water bottle, and a sandwich.  Quickly I set my shopping bag on the counter so that I could offer to purchase these items and take them out to the pair.  Mr. Checkout, a man whose service I try to avoid, ignored my actions while he continued to chat with the younger employee who had had to help him with the transaction.  Before he deigned to notice me I realized that I was unable to purchase any of the items as I had left my debit card at work.  As he was telling Kid about how he thought the woman was trying to pull a fast one on him I dumped the items in my bag onto the counter and left.  It would be surprising if he even noticed.

That is all.

MS

